JenErgieReal: Supplying cities holistically with energy

Stadtwerke Jena is launching a real-world laboratory for the energy transition with partners from science, the housing sector and the industry. It aims to link energy production, storage facilities and consumers in Jena intelligently as virtual power plant.

Together with partners from science, the housing sector and industry, the Stadtwerke Jena Group wants to demonstrate how cities can be sustainably supplied with electricity and heat in the future in a real-world laboratory for the energy transition. The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Protection is funding the implementation of the JenErgieReal project in Jena with around 20.4 million euros over a period of five years. The aim is to develop solutions for a needs-based and cost-effective energy transition in cities, and to test them in practice.

In 2019, JenErgieReal was one of 20 winning projects nationwide in the „Ideenwettbewerb Reallabore der Energiewende“ (ideas competition for real-world laboratories of the energy transition) organised by the then Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. In total, more than 90 ideas were submitted. JenErgieReal was the only Thuringian entry to make it into the selection of projects eligible for funding.
JenErgieReal is intended to serve as a model for the sustainable energy-related reorganisation of urban spaces and thus also to become relevant beyond the Thuringian city. In particular, the overarching consideration of all parts of the urban energy system - from producer to consumer, from transport to industry and commerce to housing - could make Jena a pilot location for the transformation of energy supply in cities.

What is it all about?

With the JenErgieReal project, Stadtwerke Jena, together with our above mentioned partners from different sectors, want to find answers to the central questions of the energy transition:

  • How can cities be sustainably supplied with electricity and heat in the future?
  • How can the energy transition succeed in urban areas in a cost-effective and demand-oriented manner?
  • How can people be involved in this transformation process?

The project follows an interdisciplinary approach. An initial theoretical consideration is followed by a practical phase in which the findings are demonstrated and implemented on site in Jena.

Who is involved?

The JenErgieReal project is an interdisciplinary collaboration of suppliers, grid operators, municipalities, industry, housing sector, science, and social associations. The project partners involved are:

  • Stadtwerke Energie Jena-Pößneck
  • Stadtwerke Jena Netze
  • jenawohnen
  • City of Jena
  • Westsächsische Hochschule Zwickau
  • Ernst-Abbe-Hochschule Jena
  • AWO Regionalverband Mitte-West-Thüringen e.V.
  • Brunata Metrona

What exactly is the plan?

Until 2027, large-scale electrical storage systems as well as photovoltaic and solar thermal systems are to be built throughout the city of Jena. The aim is to involve different areas of the urban energy system as integrated energy.

For example, energy storage systems will be installed at charging stations or combined with combined heat and power plants to generate electricity and heat. Electric vehicles are also to be integrated as short-term energy storage systems.

Particular attention is paid to the use of thermal energy. For instance, the aim is to generate heat decentrally from various renewable sources. Further, thermal losses are to be reused to a greater extent.

To create a network of the various generators, storage facilities and consumers, a virtual power plant is created with a digital infrastructure. In this way, the load distribution of the grid with its different actors - ranging from generators to large-scale electrical storage and electromobility to the end consumer - can be controlled highly flexibly in real time, always adjusting to the current situation.

Bildmarke Logo JenErgieReal

Interdisciplinary and collaborative: Research in eight sub-projects 

From storage technology to urban development, from acceptance to legal framework: in eight interdisciplinary projects, the project partners of JenErgieReal are working together on specific solutions for the energy transition. 

Find out more here
Fördermittelübergabe für das Reallabor der Energiewende JenErgieReal

Video: project launch

With the handover of 20.4 million euros of subsidies by Christian Maaß from the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Protection, the energy transition real-laboratory officially started on 4 November 2022. In the JenaTV report, people involved in the project explain what exactly JenErgieReal is all about, and what Germany can learn from Jena.

Im Projekt JenErgieReal soll ein virtuelles Kraftwerk Erzeuger, Speicher und Verbraucher von Strom und Wärme digital verbinden und in Echtzeit steuerbar machen

A virtual power plant: this is what JenErgieReal is about

In our blog entry, you can read more about the project contents of our real-laboratory and about how our partner network imagines the virtual powerplant - the core of JenErgieReal. 

Go to Stadtwerke-blog
Symbolbild JenErgieReal

Real-laboratory of the energy transition: information on the project

Holistic approach, highly practical relevance: Many cities and companies are to benefit from the findings of the real-laboratory on energy transition in Jena. Initial information on what exactly is to be researched and tested at JenErgieReal can be found in the press material on the project launch.

Continue reading

JenErgieReal: Städte ganzheitlich mit Energie versorgen

Stadtwerke Jena starten mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Wohnungswirtschaft und Industrie ein Reallabor der Energiewende. Energieerzeuger, -speicher und -verbraucher in Jena sollen als virtuelles Kraftwerk intelligent verknüpft werden. 

Wie Städte künftig nachhaltig mit Strom und Wärme versorgt werden können, will die Stadtwerke Jena Gruppe gemeinsam mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Wohnungswirtschaft und Industrie in einem Reallabor der Energiewende demonstrieren. Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz fördert die Umsetzung des Projektes JenErgieReal in Jena über einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren mit rund 20,4 Millionen Euro. Ziel ist es, Lösungen für eine bedarfsgerechte und kostengünstige Energiewende in Städten zu entwickeln und in der Praxis zu erproben.

JenErgieReal war 2019 eines von bundesweit 20 Gewinner-Projekten im „Ideenwettbewerb Reallabore der Energiewende“ des damaligen Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie. Insgesamt waren mehr als 90 Ideen eingereicht worden. JenErgieReal schaffte es als einziger Thüringer Beitrag in die Auswahl der förderfähigen Projekte.

JenErgieReal soll als Blaupause für einen nachhaltigen energetischen Umbau von urbanen Räumen dienen und damit auch Relevanz über die thüringische Großstadt hinaus entfalten. Insbesondere die übergreifende Betrachtung aller Teile des urbanen Energiesystems - vom Erzeuger bis zum Endverbraucher - von Verkehr über Industrie und Gewerbe bis zum Wohnen - könnte Jena zu einem Pilotstandort für die Transformation der Energieversorgung in Städten machen.

Worum geht es?

Im Projekt JenErgieReal wollen die Stadtwerke Jena gemeinsam mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Wohnungswirtschaft und Industrie Antworten finden auf zentrale Fragen der Energiewende:

  • Wie können Städte zukünftig nachhaltig mit Strom und Wärme versorgt werden?
  • Wie kann die Energiewende in urbanen Räumen kostengünstig und bedarfsgerecht gelingen?
  • Wie können die Menschen in diesen Transformationsprozess einbezogen werden? 

Das Projekt verfolgt einen interdisziplinären Ansatz. Einer zunächst theoretischen Betrachtung schließt sich eine praktische Phase an, in welcher die Erkenntnisse vor Ort in Jena demonstriert und umgesetzt werden.

Wer ist im Projekt dabei?

Im Projekt JenErgieReal arbeiten Versorger und Netzbetreiber, Kommunen, Industrie, Wohnungswirtschaft, Wissenschaft und ein Sozialverband interdisziplinär zusammen. Als Projektpartner sind dabei:

  • Stadtwerke Energie Jena-Pößneck
  • Stadtwerke Jena Netze
  • jenawohnen
  • Stadt Jena
  • Westsächsische Hochschule Zwickau
  • Ernst-Abbe-Hochschule Jena
  • AWO Regionalverband Mitte-West-Thüringen e.V.
  • Brunata Metrona

Was ist konkret geplant? 

Bis 2027 sollen über das Stadtgebiet von Jena verteilt elektrische Großspeichersysteme sowie Photovoltaik- und Solarthermieanlagen entstehen. Ziel ist es, im Sinne einer Sektorenkopplung verschiedene Bereiche des städtischen Energiesystems einzubeziehen.

So werden Energiespeicher etwa an Ladesäulen errichtet oder mit Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungs-Anlagen zur Strom- und Wärmeerzeugung kombiniert. Auch Elektrofahrzeuge sollen als kurzzeitige Energiespeicher integriert werden. 

Besonderes Augenmerk gilt der Nutzung thermischer Energie. So soll Wärme aus verschiedenen regenerativen Quellen dezentral erzeugt und Verlustwärme stärker nachgenutzt werden. 

Um die verschiedenen Erzeuger, Speicher und Verbraucher zu vernetzen, werden sie über eine digitale Infrastruktur zu einem virtuellen Kraftwerk verbunden. So kann abhängig von der jeweiligen Situation die Lastverteilung des Netzes mit den verschiedenen Akteuren – von Erzeugern über elektrische Großspeicher und Elektromobilität bis hin zum Endverbraucher – in Echtzeit hochflexibel gesteuert werden. 

Symbolbild Sektorenkopplung im Projekt JenErgieReal

Reallabor der Energiewende: Infos zum Projekt

Ganzheitlicher Ansatz, hoher Praxisbezug: Von den Erkenntnissen aus dem Reallabor der Energiewende in Jena sollen viele Städte und Unternehmen profitieren. Erste Informationen dazu, was genau bei JenErgieReal erforscht und erprobt werden soll, finden Sie im Pressematerial vom Projektstart.

Hier weiterlesen
Fördermittelübergabe für das Reallabor der Energiewende JenErgieReal

Video: Projektstart für JenErgieReal

Mit der Übergabe von Fördermitteln in Höhe von 20,4 Millionen Euro durch Christian Maaß vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz startete das Reallabor der Energiewende offiziell am 4. November 2022. Im JenaTV-Beitrag erläutern die Projektbeteiligten, worum es bei JenErgieReal konkret geht und was Deutschland von Jena lernen kann.