VAT on natural gas and district heating has decreased 

In order to mitigate the private and economic consequences of the energy crisis, the Federal Government has decided to temporarily reduce the VAT on natural gas and district heating. Instead of the 19% that is customary in the energy sector, only 7% VAT will be charged for natural gas and district heating retroactively from the 1st of October 2022 until the 31st of March 2024.

The Stadtwerke Energie pass the full reduction in VAT on to its customers.

What does this mean for your natural gas contract?

Due to the lower VAT, the gross prices for natural gas and district heating will reduce from the 1st of October 2022. Of course, we will pass on this tax reduction on to you in full. This will happen as part of the normal billing process. All necessary changes will be done automatically - you do not have to do anything.

No, it will not. Your advance payment plan remains unchanged. We will deduct the lower VAT starting from the next billing. Should a credit balance arise, we will refund it. 

No, it is not necessary to report us a meter reading. The meter reading will be recorded as always on the usual meter reading date.

Based on these readings and subsequent calculations, we carry out an allocation of your consumption and bill you accordingly. This tried and tested method is always applied when price components or taxes change during the year. 

For natural gas, however, you are welcome to send us your meter reading at any time via our customer portal.

No, you do not have to do anything. We will of course take the complete reduction in VAT into account during the billing process. 

The amount of the gross instalments remains the same also for our business customers. It is surely also in your interest that we save you the organisational effort of changing your advance payments. We will reimburse you for any overpayments that might occur via the billing statement. Important: Please consider the changed tax rates in your turnover tax advance return!

Mehrwertsteuer sinkt für Erdgas und Fernwärme

Um die privaten und wirtschaftlichen Folgen der Energiekrise abzufedern, hat die Bundesregierung eine befristete Absenkung der Mehrwertsteuer auf Erdgas und Fernwärme beschlossen. Statt der in der Energiebranche üblichen 19 Prozent werden nun rückwirkend vom 1. Oktober 2022 bis 31. März 2024 nur 7 Prozent Mehrwertsteuer für Erdgas und Fernwärme berechnet.

Die Stadtwerke Energie geben diese Senkung der Mehrwertsteuer in vollem Umfang an ihre Kunden weiter.

Was heißt das für Ihren Erdgasvertrag?

Durch die geringere Mehrwertsteuer sinken ab 1. Oktober 2022 die Bruttopreise für Erdgas und Fernwärme. Natürlich geben wir diese Steuersenkung in vollem Umfang an Sie weiter. Dies geschieht im Rahmen der normalen Abrechnung. Dafür müssen Sie nichts weiter tun, die Umstellung erfolgt automatisch.

Nein. Ihr Abschlagsplan bleibt unverändert. Wir verrechnen die niedrigere Mehrwertsteuer ab der nächsten Abrechnung. Sollte ein Guthaben entstehen, erstatten wir Ihnen dieses zurück.

Nein. Es ist nicht notwendig, uns einen Zählerstand zu übermitteln. Die Erfassung des Zählerstands findet wie gewohnt zum üblichen Stichtag der Ablesung statt.

Auf Basis dieser Werte nehmen wir eine rechnerische Abgrenzung Ihres Verbrauches vor und rechnen zum jeweils gültigen Preis ab. Dies ist eine bewährte Praxis, die immer dann zur Anwendung kommt, wenn sich Preisbestandteile oder Steuern unterjährig ändern.

Für Erdgas können uns Ihren Zählerstand aber jederzeit gern über unser Kundenportal übermitteln.

Nein, nichts. Die Mehrwertsteuersenkung wird von uns selbstverständlich und vollständig im Rahmen der Abrechnungen an Sie weitergegeben.

Auch für unsere Geschäftskunden bleibt die Höhe der Brutto-Abschläge gleich. Sicher ist es auch in Ihrem Interesse, dass wir Ihnen den organisatorischen Aufwand für eine Änderung der Abschlagszahlungen ersparen. Möglicherweise zu viel gezahlte Beträge erstatten wir Ihnen über die Abrechnung. Wichtig: Bitte berücksichtigen Sie die veränderten Steuersätze bei Ihrer Umsatzsteuervoranmeldung!